2009 U.S. Open Swimming Championships & the Reluctant Sports Photographer

IMG_7980-1

Once again I’m shooting another really cool event. For the next couple of weeks I’ll be shooting the U.S. Open Swimming championships in Federal Way, WA. There’s a lot going on, events going all day, some of them quick and others, like the 1500m freestyle, that take forever.

I’ve often found it quite ironic that as I’d end up shooting so many different sporting events when I’ve never really been a sports person. Sure, I played soccer as a kid and later on in life I was drafted by the roller hockey team some of my co-workers had formed when I worked at The Mac Zone. I’d never even watched a hockey game, but when they found I was was born in Canada they decided that Hockey was in my blood and I should be the goalie. Other than that my interest in sports has been pretty minimal since Magic Johnson left the Lakers.

How is it then that I ended up spending so much of my time shooting sports? Some 15 years ago I was hired by a medical device company to travel around the country taking photos of their products in various hospitals and I was thrilled to finally be making money doing something that I love. When I got back from that trip I started contacting all the local newspapers until finally I badgered the editor at the Federal Way News enough that they finally gave me a couple of assignments and I kept after them until finally the sports editor started giving me regular work. I was so excited to be doing the work that it didn’t matter a bit to me what I was taking pictures of, I was being paid to take pictures and they were being published in a newspaper! I did this as a sideline along with my day job for a few years until I finally decided I’d had enough of the day job and quit without any real plan other than I knew that I wanted to take pictures for a living.

It took a few months, but I finally got in touch with a company that specializes in sports photography and since that was what I’d been doing with the paper I thought it was a good match. I started doing contract work for them 7 years ago now and I still love it. While I’ve never really been into professional sports, at least not since I spent my youth watching Lakers games with my dad, I do really love getting to go to all the high school tournaments. I also get to travel quite a bit and see a lot of places I’d never get to see otherwise.

This entry was posted in Events, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Firstlight Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

About Firstlight Photography

Kier is from Orange County and Mitzi is from just outside Chicago. We both moved to Seattle in June of 1995- but it took until 2006 for us to actually meet. We saw the same concerts and we both had the same Capitol Hill sushi haunt but it took over 10 years for our paths to finally cross. When they did we had no idea that our careers would collide into a fabulous partnership. We share a common love of music and photography. Kier caught the photo bug years ago and Mitzi always had a love of art and a mind for business. When we aren’t out on a photo shoot you can find us roller skating with our kids, hosting Martha Stewart eat your heart out dinners (Kier is the chef & Mitzi is the baker), watching movies -we share a love of “Strange Brew” (which should be slightly embarrassing, but we own it), or doing DIY projects with our insanely crafty kiddos. We are located between Seattle and Tacoma any frequently travel throughout Washington, Oregon and California. You can book us for your destination wedding or event and we will give you a reasonable travel quote (our passports are ready). Life is good and we work hard to convey this in our work. There is nothing more rewarding that receiving a note from a client’s mother thanking us for doing a great job on her daughter’s wedding photos. Call us and we will do a phone consultation or meet over coffee to talk about your photography needs, answer questions and, if we are a good fit, we can devise a variety of package options.

Leave a Reply

